Re: Step by step installation of BallroomDJ on Windows

Are you having trouble installing the program on windows? Get help here.
Post Reply
vbds
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:12 pm
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Victoria,BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Step by step installation of BallroomDJ on Windows

Post by vbds » Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:42 pm

Can I ask very specific question as I wonder if it makes a difference:

1. you want us to install software based on 32-bit or 64-bit windows without worming about what the CPU is, in other words, as compared to a 64-bit CPU that is running a 32-bit windows installation.

2.The ActiveState TCL 8.6.0 version does not seem to be avalible on the website any more. Can we get it some where else or have you checked that 8.6.1 version is ok?

Ron

bll
Site Admin
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:12 am
Operating System: Linux
Contact:

Re: Step by step installation of BallroomDJ on Windows

Post by bll » Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:59 pm

vbds wrote:Can I ask very specific question as I wonder if it makes a difference:

1. you want us to install software based on 32-bit or 64-bit windows without worming about what the CPU is, in other words, as compared to a 64-bit CPU that is running a 32-bit windows installation.
You must install software based on which windows installation you have. A 32-bit windows running on a 64-bit cpu will not have a 'Program Files (x86)' directory and must run 32-bit software. You can't run 64-bit software on 32-bit windows.
vbds wrote:2.The ActiveState TCL 8.6.0 version does not seem to be avalible on the website any more. Can we get it some where else or have you checked that 8.6.1 version is ok?
The 8.6.1 version of Tcl/Tk is fine.

vbds
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:12 pm
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Victoria,BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Step by step installation of BallroomDJ on Windows

Post by vbds » Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:05 pm

Got it.
Thanks for the reply so quickly!
Ron

vbds
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:12 pm
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Victoria,BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Step by step installation of BallroomDJ on Windows

Post by vbds » Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:29 pm

ok, I got it working,
The problem I had was that I changed the install folders from the default;
default = C:\Python27 and C:\Tcl
I used C:\Program Files\Python and C:\Program Files\Tcl = does not work!

I un-installed and re-installed these programs using the install defaults then re-installed BallroomDJ and I can now load and play the music...

Yes you did say to use the defaults, I just didn't believe it!

Will start to test now...
Ron

bll
Site Admin
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:12 am
Operating System: Linux
Contact:

Re: Step by step installation of BallroomDJ on Windows

Post by bll » Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:50 pm

vbds wrote:ok, I got it working,
The problem I had was that I changed the install folders from the default;
default = C:\Python27 and C:\Tcl
I used C:\Program Files\Python and C:\Program Files\Tcl = does not work!

I un-installed and re-installed these programs using the install defaults then re-installed BallroomDJ and I can now load and play the music...

Yes you did say to use the defaults, I just didn't believe it!

Will start to test now...
Ron
Yeah, BallroomDJ needs to know where to locate those programs. Program Files\Tcl is probably ok (but I've never tested that), but Python instead of Python27 will not work.

Post Reply