wiki:HowTo/Subject/TrimSilence

Trimming Silence From a Song

(Updated 2016-8; BallroomDJ version 3.1.9)

Applicable to all songs.

Trimming the silence from a song will remove any silence from the beginning and from the end of the song.

The Trim Silence button can be used in the music manager or the song editor. The music manager can trim the silence from multiple songs.

Before the silence trim, the original audio file is copied to the Original Files folder (see: Configuration: Folders). If the audio file is already present in the original files folder, it will not be overwritten.

When using the song editor, any changes to the song will be saved first before the silence is trimmed.

The new audio file with the silence trimmed will be created, the database will be updated, and the audio file tags will be updated if necessary.

When using the music manager to trim the silence of multiple songs, be sure you have enough disk space available so that the copies of the original audio files can be saved.

Last modified 21 months ago Last modified on 2016-08-14T21:38:47-08:00