Can not change dance

Found a problem? Is BallroomDJ crashing or popping up error messages? Having trouble making something work? Describe the problem here.
Post Reply
vbds
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:12 pm
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Victoria,BC, Canada
Contact:

Can not change dance

Post by vbds » Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:18 pm

Can not save the change of dance from Foxtrot songs to FoxTrot?

I changed the dance from "Foxtrot" to "FoxTrot" in:
Edited dances/defaults = OK
Edited genres = ok
Edited Sequences = ok
edit all "Foxtrot" songs in Music manager - changed to "FoxTrot" & "Save"
exit - exit all the way out of ballroomDJ

Directly played a foxtrot song in VLC, and did a information on it: It shows the changed information: Genre="FoxTrot" and the Metadata=DANCERATING=Good|DANCE=FoxTrot|STATUS=New|DURATION=152.66

ran ballromDJ, music manager and filtered dance ="FoxTrot" it returned "0 songs selected"
filtered = "Any" and the foxtrot songs are still listed as dance = "Foxtrot"

Tried to edit all foxtrot songs, they show up as dance="Foxtrot"
Changed to "FoxTrot" and saved. using "Previuos" & "Next" confirmed that it shows as "FoxTrot".
Exited Music Editor.
The music manager unchecked the foxtrot songs but still shows them as dance = "Foxtrot"
filtered dance ="FoxTrot" it returned "0 songs selected"

Round Two: change these songs to "Tango", exit ballroomDJ, confirmed they are now "Tango" genre-confirmed with VLC.
In ballroomDJ I then change them from "Tango" to "FoxTrot" saved & exited and confirmed with VLC
ran ballromDJ again, and songs show up as "Foxtrot" NOT "FoxTrot"??????


Can not change the dance from "Foxtrot" to "FoxTrot"??

>>Thinking about this --it could be a windows problem?
In windows you CAN NOT have a "Foxtrot" folder and a "FoxTrot" folder
My windows folder is shown as "FoxTrot"
And in ballroomDJ i used Organization path format = {DANCE\}{TITLE}
Auto Organize = "Yes"
>>>Might be a clue to the problem??<<<<<

bll
Site Admin
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:12 am
Operating System: Linux
Contact:

Re: Can not change dance

Post by bll » Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:01 pm

Oh, sorry, I think my change in 1.21 has messed you up.
I decided that the 'FoxTrot' spelling was weird and changed it to 'Foxtrot'.
To support prior versions of BallroomDJ, the program automatically changes FoxTrot to Foxtrot.
This is only for the dance, not genre.

So now my program is fighting you.
Stay with plain old 'Foxtrot', and you should be good.

vbds
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:12 pm
Operating System: Windows 7
Location: Victoria,BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Can not change dance

Post by vbds » Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:42 am

OK, changed Organization - Dance,Genre,Sequences from FoxTrot to Foxtrot.
Re-saved all Foxtrot songs in music manager.

Everything works now.

Thanks for the explanation on this.

Post Reply